× Home
Variable font sizes for responsive web design

Bootstrap RFS - Responsible Font Sizes

Bootstrap with RFS (Responsible Font Sizes)

Bootstrap RFS automates and simplifies the adjustment of font sizes in Responsive Web Design. Using it is really quite simple.

RFS automatically calculates the appropriate values based on the dimensions of the browser viewport.

The calculation is done with calc() functions and is compiled with a mixture of rem and viewport units. This enables the responsive scaling behaviour. Now this sounds like a very complicated usage, but it is not. SCSS is a basic requirement for RFS.

Originally developed to resize fonts, RFS (short for Responsive Font Sizes) is nowadays able to rescale most CSS properties with unit values such as margin, padding, border-radius or box-shadow. At the moment I only use the Font Sizes.

Use Bootstrap RFS

On this website, I use <h1> to <h4> headings, so I created the corresponding SCSS code only for these:

h1 { @include font-size(2.1rem); }
h2 { @include font-size(1.6rem); margin-top: 2.5rem; }
h3 { @include font-size(1.4rem); margin-top: 2.0rem; }
h4 { @include font-size(1.1rem); margin-top: 2.0rem; }
p { @include font-size(1.0rem); }

That’s it, it couldn’t be easier.

The whole thing has a touch of magic and reduces your own work enormously. This and other work simplifications make the Bootstrap Toolkit so interesting. The above rem specifications refer to a min-width of 1200px. RFS uses this as the default value; this default value can also be configured.

Install Bootstrap RFS

If you have already integrated the Bootstrap SCSS and JavaScript files into your Hugo project, no further installation work is necessary. You can simply paste the SCSS code described above into one of your SCSS files.

You can also install - RFS standalone - without the full Bootstrap installation. I will describe how Bootstrap is integrated into Hugo in a later post.

Configure Bootstrap RFS

I do not want to repeat the information in the RFS documentation on the configuration here. Therefore, please - in the RFS-Doku - have a look. I have stored the $rfs-* variables in my variables.scss. The SCSS file is loaded before Bootstrap in the SCSS tree.

$rfs-base-value: 0.8rem;
$rfs-rem-value: 20;
$rfs-safari-iframe-resize-bug-fix: true;

$rfs-base-value: The option prevents the value from becoming too small on smaller screens. If the font size passed to RFS is smaller than this value, no smooth rescaling takes place.
$rfs-rem-value: The default size on my website is 20px and not 16px.

Conclusion

Bootstrap with RFS is currently released in version v5.0.2. I use it on this website and have no problems with it at the moment. At the moment, I only use RFS for <h1> to <h4>. For the HTML element <p> it didn’t work for me. For <p> I use 1.0rem. It would be nice if this would scale when the viewport is small. The minimum value of rfs-base-value is 0.8rem. So actually <p> would have to be scaled down as well. Otherwise, RFS is really a labour-saver, with quite simple use.

List of links to this post

This might also interest you

- Update 01. Aug. 2021 |
3 minutes to read
0
This post was created with Hugo version 0.87.0.

With the German language setting, comments are not displayed in the English version of the website and vice versa.

© 2021 - Frank Kunert  -  About me
A service from webdienste-kunert.de

× Startseite
Variable Schriftgrößen für das Responsive Webdesign

Bootstrap RFS - Responsible Font Sizes

Bootstrap with RFS (Responsible Font Sizes)

Bootstrap RFS automatisiert und vereinfacht die Anpassung von Schriftgrößen im Responsive Webdesign. Das Benutzen ist wirklich ganz einfach.

RFS berechnet automatisch die entsprechenden Werte basierend auf den Abmessungen des Browser Viewports.

Die Berechnung erfolgt mit calc()-Funktionen und wird mit einer Mischung aus Rem- und Viewport-Einheiten kompiliert. Dadurch wird das reaktionsschnelle Skalierungsverhalten ermöglicht. Das hört sich jetzt nach einer sehr komplizierten Benutzung an, ist es aber nicht. SCSS ist eine Grundvoraussetzung für RFS.

Das ursprünglich zur Größenänderung von Schriftgrößen entwickelte RFS (Abkürzung für Responsive Font Sizes) ist heutzutage in der Lage, die meisten CSS-Eigenschaften mit Einheitswerten wie margin, padding, border-radius oder box-shadow neu zu skalieren. Zurzeit benutze ich nur die Font Sizes.

Bootstrap RFS benutzen

Auf dieser Website benutze ich <h1> bis <h4> Überschriften, deshalb habe ich auch nur dafür den entsprechenden SCSS-Code erstellt:

h1 { @include font-size(2.1rem); }
h2 { @include font-size(1.6rem); margin-top: 2.5rem; }
h3 { @include font-size(1.4rem); margin-top: 2.0rem; }
h4 { @include font-size(1.1rem); margin-top: 2.0rem; }
p { @include font-size(1.0rem); }

Das war’s, einfacher geht es nicht.

Das Ganze hat schon einen Touch von Magie und reduziert die eigene Arbeit enorm. Diese und andere Arbeitserleichterungen machen das Bootstrap Toolkit so interessant. Die obigen rem-Angaben beziehen sich auf einen min-width von 1200px. Den benutzt RFS als default-Wert, auch dieser default-Wert kann konfiguriert werden.

Bootstrap RFS installieren

Wenn Sie die Bootstrap SCSS und JavaScript Dateien bereits in Ihr Hugo-Projekt integriert haben, sind keine weiteren Installationsarbeiten nötig. Sie können einfach den oben beschriebenen SCSS-Code in eine Ihrer SCSS-Dateien einfügen.

Auch ohne die komplette Bootstrap Installation können Sie - RFS standalone - installieren. Wie Bootstrap in Hugo eingebunden wird, werde ich in einem späteren Beitrag beschreiben.

Bootstrap RFS konfigurieren

Ich möchte die Angaben der RFS-Doku zur Konfiguration hier nicht noch einmal wiederholen. Deshalb schauen Sie bitte - in der RFS-Doku - nach. Die $rfs-* Variablen habe ich in meiner variables.scss gespeichert. Die SCSS-Datei wird vor Bootstrap im SCSS-Baum geladen.

$rfs-base-value: 0.8rem;
$rfs-rem-value: 20;
$rfs-safari-iframe-resize-bug-fix: true;

$rfs-base-value: Die Option verhindert, dass der Wert auf kleineren Bildschirmen zu klein wird. Ist die an RFS übergebene Schriftgröße kleiner als dieser Wert, findet keine flüssige Neuskalierung statt.
$rfs-rem-value: Die Standardgröße auf meiner Website ist 20px und nicht 16px.

Fazit

Bootstrap mit RFS ist zurzeit in der Version v5.0.2 veröffentlicht. Ich benutze es auf dieser Website und habe damit zurzeit auch keine Probleme. RFS setze ich im Moment nur für <h1> bis <h4> ein. Bei dem HTML-Element <p> hat es bei mir nicht funktioniert. Für <p> benutze ich 1.0rem. Es wäre schön wenn dies bei kleinem Viewport skalieren würde. Der Minimalwert von rfs-base-value ist 0.8rem. Also eigentlich müsste auch <p> verkleinert werden. Ansonsten ist RFS wirklich eine Arbeitserleichterung, mit ganz einfacher Benutzung.

Linkliste zu diesem Beitrag

- Update 01. Aug. 2021 |
3 Minuten Lesezeit
0
Dieser Beitrag wurde mit der Hugo-Version 0.85.0 erstellt.

Kommentare werden bei deutscher Spracheinstellung nicht in der englischen Variante der Webseite angezeigt und umgekehrt.

© 2021 - Frank Kunert  -  Ich über mich
Ein Service von webdienste-kunert.de